Reading Cycling Club

Result of the Clive Pugh Memorial 25-mile time-trial on the H25/1A Colthrop-Theale course on Sunday 4 July 2021

Organiser: Roderick MacFadyen, Reading Cycling Club

Timekeepers: Christina Demetriou, Reading Cycling Club

Richard Warren, Reading Cycling Club Philip Chapple, Reading Cycling Club

Marshals Grateful thanks to our helpful marshals:

Harriet Pepper, David Browning, Graham Patterson, Stephen Millward, Wendy

Bennett, Ray Bennett.

Report Early morning rain dissuaded a few riders from starting but the weather

cleared to give a fine morning for Reading CC's Open 25-mile time trial on the A4 between Theale and Thatcham. Congratulations are due to the youthful pair of Matthew Coulson (University of Oxford CC) and Laura Pittard (Brother UK - Team OnForm) who were fastest. Junior rider Sophie Quay-Clark (Palmer Park Velo) put in a great performance to clock a PB. Reading CC claimed the team prize with James Churchard, Rob Jefford and Jen Magill. There were excellent debut rides from Reading CC riders Rob Jefford (very close to breaking the hour) and Duncan Patterson while James Churchard was his usual rapid self and Jen Magill achieved a super result as 2nd placed

woman.

Prize structure Fastest £50, £40, £30, £20

Women £50, £40, £30, £20 Veterans £50, £40, £30, £20

Team of three £20 x 3

Prize winners as shown in the results below.

"One rider one prize" rule was applied other than for Team award.

Full result

				Prize	Prize
			Vet Std		value
Matthew Coulson	Oxford University CC	0:50:45		-	£50
Edward Hales	London Dynamo	0:51:28	+ 14:54	2	£40
Chris Holmes	Twickenham CC	0:51:47	+ 15:08	2V	£40
Nick English	AeroCoach	0:51:49	+ 14:33	3	£30
Peter Younghusband	Petersfield Triathlon Club	0:54:31	+ 14:52	3V	£30
Philip Watts	North Hampshire RC	0:54:48	+ 16:03	1V	£50
Ian Patterson	Utag RT	0:55:02	+ 14:05	4	£20
Matthew Russell	Team Swindon Cycles	0:55:06			
James Churchard	Reading CC	0:55:16	+ 11:28	Team	£20
James Cadman	Hounslow & District Whs	0:56:05			
Timothy Budd	Hounslow & District Whs	0:56:37	+ 09:45		
Adam Thompson	JAM Cycling Race Team coached by BPC	0:57:20			
Ragnar Laan	Twickenham CC	0:57:23	+ 09:09		
Richard Young	Mickey Cranks Cycling Club	0:57:25			
John Bland	Kingston Wheelers CC	0:58:07			
Alan Grant	VTTA (London & Home Counties)	0:59:46	+ 09:06		
Laura Pittard	Brother Uk - Team OnForm	0:59:55		1W	£50
Paul O'Driscoll	Team Swindon Cycles	1:00:04	+ 07:52		
Rob Jefford	Reading CC	1:00:19		Team	£20
Chris Lowe	Swindon Road Club	1:00:47	+ 10:24		
Michael Harrison	North Hampshire RC	1:01:06	+ 06:01		
	Chris Holmes Nick English Peter Younghusband Philip Watts Ian Patterson Matthew Russell James Churchard James Cadman Timothy Budd Adam Thompson Ragnar Laan Richard Young John Bland Alan Grant Laura Pittard Paul O'Driscoll Rob Jefford Chris Lowe	Matthew Coulson Edward Hales London Dynamo Chris Holmes Nick English Peter Younghusband Philip Watts Ian Patterson Matthew Russell James Churchard James Cadman Timothy Budd Adam Thompson Regnar Laan Richard Young John Bland Alan Grant Laura Pittard Redwing CC Edward University CC London Dynamo Twickenham CC AeroCoach Petersfield Triathlon Club North Hampshire RC Utag RT Team Swindon Cycles Reading CC Hounslow & District Whs JAM Cycling Race Team coached by BPC Twickenham CC Richard Young John Bland Kingston Wheelers CC Alan Grant Laura Pittard Paul O'Driscoll Rob Jefford Chris Lowe Swindon Road Club	Matthew Coulson Oxford University CC 0:50:45 Edward Hales London Dynamo 0:51:28 Chris Holmes Twickenham CC 0:51:47 Nick English AeroCoach 0:51:49 Peter Younghusband Petersfield Triathlon Club 0:54:31 Philip Watts North Hampshire RC 0:54:48 Ian Patterson Utag RT 0:55:02 Matthew Russell Team Swindon Cycles 0:55:06 James Churchard Reading CC 0:55:16 James Cadman Hounslow & District Whs 0:56:05 Timothy Budd Hounslow & District Whs 0:56:37 Adam Thompson JAM Cycling Race Team coached by BPC Ragnar Laan Twickenham CC 0:57:23 Richard Young Mickey Cranks Cycling Club 0:57:25 John Bland Kingston Wheelers CC 0:58:07 Alan Grant VTTA (London & Home Counties) 0:59:46 Laura Pittard Brother Uk - Team OnForm 0:59:55 Paul O'Driscoll Team Swindon Cycles 1:00:04 Rob Jefford Reading CC 1:00:19 Chris Lowe Swindon Road Club 1:00:47	Matthew Coulson Oxford University CC 0:50:45 Edward Hales London Dynamo 0:51:28 + 14:54 Chris Holmes Twickenham CC 0:51:47 + 15:08 Nick English AeroCoach 0:51:49 + 14:33 Peter Younghusband Petersfield Triathlon Club 0:54:31 + 14:52 Philip Watts North Hampshire RC 0:54:48 + 16:03 Ian Patterson Utag RT 0:55:02 + 14:05 Matthew Russell Team Swindon Cycles 0:55:02 + 14:05 James Churchard Reading CC 0:55:16 + 11:28 James Cadman Hounslow & District Whs 0:56:05 + 11:28 Timothy Budd Hounslow & District Whs 0:56:05 + 09:45 Adam Thompson JAM Cycling Race Team coached by BPC 0:57:20 + 09:45 Ragnar Laan Twickenham CC 0:57:23 + 09:09 Richard Young Mickey Cranks Cycling Club 0:57:25 + 09:09 Richard Young Mickey Cranks Cycling Club 0:59:46 + 09:06	Rider Club Time Vet Std awarded Matthew Coulson Oxford University CC 0:50:45 1 Edward Hales London Dynamo 0:51:28 + 14:54 2 Chris Holmes Twickenham CC 0:51:47 + 15:08 2V Nick English AeroCoach 0:51:49 + 14:33 3 Peter Younghusband Petersfield Triathlon Club 0:54:31 + 14:52 3V Philip Watts North Hampshire RC 0:54:48 + 16:03 1V Ian Patterson Utag RT 0:55:02 + 14:05 4 Matthew Russell Team Swindon Cycles 0:55:06 + 11:28 Team James Churchard Reading CC 0:55:16 + 11:28 Team James Cadman Hounslow & District Whs 0:56:05 + 09:45 A Timothy Budd Hounslow & District Whs 0:56:37 + 09:45 A Adam Thompson JAM Cycling Race Team coached by BPC 0:57:20 + 09:09 A Richard Young Mickey

					Prize	Prize
	Rider	Club	Time	Vet Std	awarded	value
22	Jen Magill	Reading CC	1:01:17	+ 12:10	2W, Team	£60
23	Peter Iffland	Chippenham & District Wheelers	1:01:40	+ 08:16		
24	Miriam Taylor-Carter	Bedfordshire Road CC	1:01:50	+ 12:04	3W	£30
25	Stu Carver	North Hampshire RC	1:01:51	+ 07:32		
26	Duncan Patterson	Reading CC	1:02:05	+ 05:26		
27	John Bourton	Bicester Millennium CC	1:02:43	+ 10:45		
28	Emily Andruszko	Podium Addict	1:02:54		4W	£20
29	Andrew Bigwood	VTTA (Surrey/ Sussex)	1:03:20	+ 06:54		
30	Jason Richardson	Dorking Cycling Club	1:03:38			
31	John Allen	Redmon CC	1:03:44	+ 07:07		
32	Kimberley Pickett	Bicester Millennium CC	1:03:59			
33	Sean Powers	Farnborough & Camberley CC	1:04:57	+ 01:35		
34	Joy Payne	High Wycombe CC	1:05:40	+ 13:08	4V	£20
35	Paul Cannon	Epsom CC	1:05:43	+ 09:40		
36	Sophie Quay-Clark	Palmer Park Velo	1:07:04			
37	Christine Lutsch	Windrush Triathlon Club	1:07:42	+ 04:30		
38	Michael1 Murkin	Swindon Road Club	1:08:12	+ 08:52		
39	Hannah Quay	Reading CC	1:08:15	+ 05:12		
40	Gary Martin	Westerley Cycling Club	1:08:19	+ 02:52		
41	Rachel Green	Cheltenham & County Cycling Club	1:11:26	+ 05:31		
42	Peter Horsfield	Redmon CC	1:14:24	+ 00:28		
	Adrian Lee	Reading CC	DNF			
	Iain Cotton	Alton CC/Owens Cycles	DNF			
	Stuart Stow	Twickenham CC	DNF			

DNS (Apols): 3, 5, 6, 10, 24, 49, 50, 53, 57, 70, 71, 72 DNS: 19, 21, 22, 23, 29, 31, 37, 38, 44, 46, 51, 60, 61, 68

Next Reading CC event Sunday 25th July
Come back for our afternoon '10' on the H10/1C Woolhampton course. Closing date for entries is Tuesday 13th July.